The Very Inspiring Blogger Award

wpid-award.jpg


I was caught off guard with this award. How could I inspire anyone? I don’t know how I did it, but A Shot of Common Sense was inspired enough to think of me. That alone makes my heart smile. Thank you so much. I wish I had some fabulous speech prepared but I really have nothing,  I am completely speechless, which never happens.

 

In accepting my award there are a couple of things I must do. First, I must complete my interview. These questions were super hard and I didn’t want to disappoint anyone so I went with the first thing that popped in my head and just wrote everything I thought.


Welcome to my brain…

1. Why did you start your blog?

 

I started “Life With the Bearded J’s” as a place to tell my story. My life is full of crazy moments that I try to see the humor in. Facing really crappy situations with a smile and a joke is my way of coping. Writing about it and sharing it with you guys is an added bonus.

 

2. What book has touched you the most?

 

I have a huge confession,  I hardly ever read anymore. There was a time in my life I lived in books. I escaped reality through them. Lately,  reality has been better than any book. So I haven’t had to escape.

 

I remember my junior year in high school I took a literature class that required us to read “To Kill a Mockingbird.” It’s full of life lessons and I believe every teenager should be required to read it.

 

One of the biggest things I took away from that book was how important it is to stand up for what’s right, even if you’re standing alone. I live by that motto everyday.

 

3. If you could eat dinner with any famous person who is still alive, whom would you choose?

This is a hard question to answer. Famous people intimidate me, and I’m a Taco Bell drive thru kind of girl. I only enjoy sit down restaurants with Brandon. Generally we reserve sit down restaurants for special occasions. 

 

I guess I’d be down to take Norman Reedus to the Taco Bell drive thru with me, if I MUST. -I swear I was forced Brandon-

 

4. Where is the one place you have visited that gives you complete calmness?

wpid-img_46602768619583.jpeg
The cabin we rented.

 

Brandon and I rent a cabin for our anniversary weekend. We slip away to Brown County State Park. We leave all sense of responsibility behind and reconnect with each other. It’s really nice to have each others undivided attention.

 

The whole cabin in the woods isn’t usually my cup of tea. Every time we go I visualize the beginning of a cheesy horror movie.  Bugs, dirt and wild animals generally freak me out but with Brandon by my side, its actually quite fun.

wpid-img_46587858847297.jpeg

 

5. Are you a bucket list person? If so, name one thing on it?

 

I’m not really a bucket list person. When I want to do something, I do it. No need to wait till I’m on my death bed. 

 

6. What is the goal of your blog?

 

I honestly don’t have a goal. I guess one day it would be nice to generate income but if that never happens, I’m ok with it. Right now, I write for fun. I write because it eases my heart and relieves stress. That’s all I ever wanted to do, so I feel like I have already met the goal I set for it.

 

7. What is a well day spent to you?

 

A day spent vegging out on junk reality TV shows. No regrets. 

 

8. How do you start your day?

 

By checking my Facebook notifications. I lay in bed, clear out my notifications and wait for the kids to wake up. Once they’re up I go into full mommy mode for me. Get breakfast going, get Jaelyn to school and start my daily cleaning schedule. Yeah, I have a cleaning schedule.

 

9. What is your favorite holiday?

 

Fourth of July holds a special place in my heart. It was the night I told Brandon I loved him for the first time. I had no idea until recently but it’s also a favorite holiday for my parents because of similar reasons. Screw Valentines Day, fireworks is where the real romance lies.

 

10. Are you where you want to be professionally and if not, what will you do about it?

 

I’m a SAHM. I’m finally doing something that makes me happy and feel complete, every day. I’m my own boss, when the kids allow me to be. I work my own hours, as long as the kids say it’s ok. I do what I want, as long as it makes my kids happy. I’m exactly where I need to be, at home with my kids because that’s where they want me.

 

11. What is your favorite quote?

 

“It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.” – E.E. Cummings It’s kind of self explanatory, right?

The other thing I must do is nominate 5 other bloggers for this award

 

I nominate The Daily Rantings of an Angrivated Mom because we are so much alike it’s a bit creepy. I adore her because she allows me to do all the talking.


The lady behind Inappropriate Bursts of Laughter is such a kind soul and even through trying times she’s able to come out on top. She is a true inspiration.  


The author behind  Platypus Reviews is a very close friend of mine. He’s so nifty with technology it blows my mind away. His grumpy remarks would allow him to easily fit in at family dinner.


Recently I found out I am not the only one who struggles with texting and walking. So Very Shay,  made me feel normal within the first 5 minutes of knowing her and that’s not easy to do. 


Mother of Serendipity holds a special place in my heart. I adore her, her blog and her Facebook page. She’s always been super sweet and that is inspiring when you’re up against the mean girls on a daily basis.

2 thoughts on “The Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. Fantastic blog, I really enjoyed reading your answers and getting to know you better. The book to Kill a Mockingbird holds a special place in my heart. 💖Watching the movie with my beloved Mama helped me stand up to my bullies and have confidence in myself. I think you’re amazing and I would totally hit the drive thru with you and Norman Reedus. 😉

Leave a Reply

