Liebster Award

wpid-liebster2.png

I was nominated for the Liebster Award by Traci at A Day in the Life of a Drama Queen’s Mom. (she’s on Facebook too) I knew one day someone would notice me… Thank you Traci!!

I honestly feel like I just won Miss America! I did the hand wave in the kitchen a few minutes ago and I’ve been smiling from ear to ear. This is exactly what I needed, especially since no one ever remembers me. They remember Brandon and the kids but never me.

I never thought this day would come. I don’t have a speech prepared like Traci. I’ll just wing it…

First and foremost I would like to thank my fans! Without them, this would be a family affair. I would like to thank my husband, Brandon! With out the beard I wouldn’t have a gimmick. Thank you for getting your beard on, my dear. I love you and I need you more than you will ever know. I need to thank my kids. Without them, I would not be the person I am today. They are the glitter in my life. I need to thank my Mom and Dad. They created all this awesome-sauce; blame them or thank them. I owe my life to them. Lastly, I need to thank the blogging community. They have accepted me and laugh at my silliness. They are an amazing group of people who help empower me and they don’t even realize it. THANK YOU FOLKS!

Winner, winner chicken dinner!!!

What inspired you to start blogging?

I used to post a lot on my personal Facebook account about the kids and our lives. Whenever I would run into a FB friend in public they would always say how much they enjoyed all my post. So I knew I had something, I just didn’t know exactly what to do with it. (I still don’t really know)

I read a blog by Pink Fuzzy Slippers and my Hubby Pants and I immediately thought, I could do that. So I secretly wrote an introduction to what would be my blog. I saved it on my phone and never told anyone about it. Months passed by until I had the nerve to mention it to anyone.

Brandon and I were celebrating our 4 year wedding anniversary.  We rented a secluded cabin in the woods and snuck away for the weekend. While there I decided to read it to Brandon.

If I was ever going to do this blogging gig, I needed Brandon on board. He was blown away. He had no idea I could transfer my thoughts into words and it be so interesting. He told me I had to do this.

A month later on Mothers Day he got me a new phone, a tablet and writing things so I could start this new venture. I needed his approval and his OK, I needed him to hold my hand and stroke my ego. He has done just that. He has been my biggest fan through it all. I will forever be thankful for his never-ending support and love.

What are 2 of your biggest pet peeves?

Shit, I have so many.

I hate repeating myself. I hate when people don’t listen and I have to say things time after time, it’s so annoying. The kids are the worst with this one.

I also hate when people are moving at their own pace of RIDICULOUSLY FREAKIN SLOW, when I know they could be moving a little faster. I hate slow walkers, talkers, learners, texters, and eaters. It annoys me. GET THE HECK OUTTA MY WAY, I got stuff to do people. The kids are the worst at this one too.

Are you a dog person or a cat person?

Dog person, ALL. THE. WAY.

Growing up my mom told us kids my dad was allergic to cats. One day my senior year of high school my dad says, “let’s get a cat.” What the heck?

I instantly replied, “but you’re allergic.” Long story short, mom lied. She denies it but there is 4 of us kids and we all have the same story. Mystery solved! Moms a liar but I get it now.

Screw cats. When I lived with my ex husband we had like 4 cats. Cats are EVIL. Never again. I hate cats.

Brandon has already told our kids he’s allergic. I told him I will not participate in the lie but I’m glad he’s willing to take one for the team because UGH CATS.

We have 2 dogs. Buster and Bruno, they’re brothers from the same litter. One is really smart the other is really dumb. One is fat, one is thin. One is mainly black, one is mainly white. One acts like an old dog, the other one is young at heart. I won’t put them on blast by saying whose who.

We also have 5 fish, they’re my favorite of all the animals. Their names are : Queen Franchesca, Baby fish, Goldie, Nemo, and the big one. We never named him, he’s just really big and that’s what the kids call him. He’s about the length of a dollar bill. That’s huge for goldfish. I think I’m actually a goldfish person.

What is a lesson that you desperately wish your children would learn now? (So you can stop repeating it)

To properly wipe their butt. Skidmarks gross me out. Enough said.

Other than that I have really awesome kids. I usually only have to say something about 10 times before they get it. That’s normal right?

What is your idea of a “perfect date night” with your significant other?

In the bed of a pickup truck. Line that sucker with pillows and blankets. Park it in a remote area. Watch the stars and the sky. I really enjoy Brandon’s company. We used to go on dates all the time, but now we have date nights every Saturday. Because we rarely get away from the kids, we tend to stay in, rent a movie, get pizza and enjoy each other while the kids sleep. I like trying new things and a bed of a pickup truck is one place we’ve never cuddled at.

How do you feel about public restrooms?

*cringe* They are so disgusting, I hover. I always freakin hover. I have protected my vag from all kinds of crud over the years, I’ll be damned if I pick up a herp off a public restroom. No thank you.

I do have a funny story about a truck stop.

One Christmas we were heading up to Michigan for a Christmas party, I was pregnant with Jaelyn. My older brother and his wife couldn’t make it but we took their boys. Their youngest was around 6 years old. I had to pee so my dad pulled over at a truck stop. It was a raunchy one.

I took my youngest nephew in with me because he had to pee too. I wasn’t a mom yet, I was just creeping up on 9 months of being pregnant. (Jaelyn was born 2 weeks after this incident) Looking back, he should have went first.

I went pee first, in the handicapped stall. I made him come in the stall with me because there was a lot of foot traffic in the restroom. I’m doing my thing and I hear him say, “Aunt Jenny… whats this hole for?”

I look up and there’s a hole in the wall. My nephews getting ready to stick his eye up to it! I screamed, “NOOOOOOO!”

He didn’t look in it and nothing popped out of it. I almost peed down my leg, I was prepared to jump up midstream if needed. I don’t think the hole was for what my mind went to but you never know. I will never forget that story. I laughed the rest of the way to Michigan. Heck, I’m still laughing.

What is your favorite thing to cook or bake?

I love cooking and baking but I hate making things from scratch. I have a recipe for a Beefy Baked Ravioli. It’s amazing, tastes like lasagna. I enjoy making it because you would think its all homemade but in fact it calls for frozen ravioli and a jar of your favorite spaghetti sauce. I like meals that have you make some stuff but allows for prepackaged ingredients.

I also enjoy baking Pineapple Upside-Down Mini-Cakes. That recipe is the same way, boxed cake mixes are fabulous!

Are you a “lover” or a “fighter”?

Both. At times I maybe more of one than the other. Younger Jenny LOVED a good fight. Now a day’s the only thing worth fighting over is my family. In any way, shape or form if someone messes with them, all hell will break loose, heads will spin and tables will flip. I do not play games when it comes to Brandon and the kids.

When I love, it’s with my whole heart. Over the years love has changed me, the change was usually for the worse. The relationships that I maintain now are healthier and they make me a better person. A person that doesn’t want or need to fight. So lately I’ve been more of a lover but I enjoy loving so I’ve been rolling with it.

If you could publish something (other than your blog), what genre would you write?

I would write those cheesy romance novels. The plot is always the same, so I would bring plot changes to the table and make them even more fabulous. I am a true romantic.

When and where did you get your *real* first kiss?

The first time my lips ever touched a boys lips, I was in 6th grade. He was a handsome basketball player. He was so tall I had to stand on the curb, we were hanging out at a playground. But that’s all it was, our lips touched.

My real first kiss, the one I think counts, happened the summer after 8th grade year. (Big gap between kisses huh? I’m not a hussy!) I don’t like to kiss and tell but this time, sparks flew. I had butterflies in my stomach and I couldn’t sleep all night. But that was with a guy whose last name is Denney. I enjoyed the kiss and many more after, but Jenny Denney? No thanks.


 

My last duty as a Liebster Award recipient is to nominate other blogs. Yay!! These are some personal favorites of mine. Some I have been following for months/years and others I just stumbled across last week…

I nominate the following blogs for the Liebster Award

The Original Hussy Strikes Again

Imperfect Mom Chronicles

The Hoare

Sippy Cup and Booze

Moe & Co

Ignore the Mess

Sister Serendip

Clutterbug

Ruling the Nest

 

Official Rules of the Liebster Award

If you have been nominated for The Liebster Award and choose to accept it, you must write a blog post about the Liebster award in which you:

1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link back to their blog on your blog.

2. Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget” on your sidebar.

3. Answer the 10 questions about yourself provided to you by the person who nominated you.

4. Nominate 5 – 10 blogs that you feel deserve the award. (They must have a less than 1000 followers.)

5. Create a new list of questions for those bloggers to answer.

6. List these rules in your post (You can copy and paste from here.)

7. Once you have written and published it, you then must inform the people/blogs that you nominated and provide a link to your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!)

 

Here are the list of 10 questions I would like my nominees to answer:

1. What’s your favorite past-time, aside from blogging?

2. If you could turn back the hands of time and do one thing in life differently what would it be and why?

3. What is your main goal you would like to accomplish with your blog?

4. If you could have lunch with one person,  dead or alive, who would it be and why?

5. What inspires you to write?

6.  What is your blogging routine? (How do you go about creating a new blog entry from start to finish?)

7. What is one thing you want the blogging community to know about you?

8. What is your fondest child hood memory?

9. If you were not doing what you do everyday (doing the same thing is not an option) what would you be doing? (for work or for fun)

10. Describe your first *real* date, the one with no chaperones!

9 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. I LOVE this! And I am totally going to try your pineapple upside down cake recipe…YUM! I also have to tell my kids everything 10 (or more…much, much more) times. That bathroom story…YIKES! Can we say “creepy”?! LOL And the next time you come up to Michigan we are TOTALLY hanging out! ❤ Thanks for accepting the award. I am so glad you did 🙂

  2. You know I love attention! This award was awesome, there’s no way I could NOT accept it.

    Brandon’s been begging for the pineapple upside down cakes. I have everything to make them but time and energy. Lol.

    Those are my go-to for pitch ins or pot lucks. They’re always a hit. I hope you enjoy them!!

  3. It is an honor to just be nominated… isn’t that what they all say? Screw that! I won I won I won! I am so excited my post partum body almost peed itself. Sadly, the “almost” went away when I read about your gas station bathroom story. 🙂 As soon as I get a chance, I will write my acceptance.

Leave a Reply

